Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 26, 2024, 3:16 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Religious Background
Religious Background
Hello, I'm a girl from Romania (a country from East Europe), which is a pretty religious country. Most people are orthodhox christians, I used to be myself.
In Romania religion is OBLIGATORY teached in schools. Ok, not obligatory... if you get grades from other place. At the very least I think so, sorry if I'm misleading, this country's system is bullshit, it's hard for me to get it.
Anyway, so I started learning religion in first grade (Religion is taught from first to twelfth grade). My teacher taught us about the Bible, about how god created Adam and Eve, about how God loves us so much that he can send us to Hell etc.
I, as a stupid kid believed all of that. Then in middle school (just so you know, in Romania it starts at fifth grade) I had a different teacher. She, like the other one, thaught pretty much the same things. 
One day (in the seventh grade) I was alone with a friend from my father. I told him something we learned at religion class, and he told me that I shouldn't believe that. He was a christian, he just didn't believe in the Old Testament or in hell. 
I was really mad, I tought that my family and friends were brainwashed too (I still think that, but to a lesser level). The fact that an oncle of mine is a priest didn't help. In the eight grade I told my parents that I don't want to go to church anymore and that I want only to pray at home. They didn't understand me so I started to scream. In the end they convinced me that they don't believe in hell, nor do they think that atheists are bad. They only go to church because of positive energy. I calmed myself down and I countinued to belive in Jesus.