Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 24, 2024, 12:40 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Atheism may be contributing to my social isolation
Atheism may be contributing to my social isolation
I'm a 4th year math major at university and like a lot of mathematicians, I'm a recluse. My other interests are also pretty solitary: reading, physics, chess, TV and atheism. In fact, my presence on AF.com and AF.org is my only social life at the moment. I'm a part time student due to which it's not easy to make friends with other (full time) students as they progress with their courses quicker than me. I don't have a good relationship with my family either.

I suffer from mental illness, which isn't helped by my isolation. I've spoken to my therapist about this and he recommended joining a club at university. I realize that if I was still a Christian, I'd have some social activity at the local church every Sunday. I conclude that atheism, though a good thing, has possibly had a negative impact on my mental health. Since I can't deconvert to Christianity again, what should I do?
RE: Atheism may be contributing to my social isolation
Try to find a part time job. It'll get you out of the house, make money, and you'll meet and work with other people. It's a good way to make friends.
"Of course, everyone will claim they respect someone who tries to speak the truth, but in reality, this is a rare quality. Most respect those who speak truths they agree with, and their respect for the speaking only extends as far as their realm of personal agreement. It is less common, almost to the point of becoming a saintly virtue, that someone truly respects and loves the truth seeker, even when their conclusions differ wildly." 

-walsh
I'm afraid my suggestion wouldn't be beneficial for someone like you.