Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 1:34 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Recent convert
Recent convert
Hello all.

I am a 28-year old software engineer who just recently broke free of the mental shackles commonly referred to as religion; Christianity to be specific. I was born into a family with a very religious mother who forced my sister and me to attend church, youth group, evening worship services, bible camps, and a Christian private school that I spent my 7th - 12th grades attending.

I always had a very skeptical, scientific mind thanks to my father who educated me in mathematics, physics, biology, and astronomy at an early age. He never tried to save me from the indoctrination of my mother but I don't hold that against him seeing as he probably did so out of respect to my mom.

Once I graduated from my Christian high school, I attended a secular state university where my higher education began causing me to question my faith, as it commonly does. I came to realize that I always knew it was baloney but I failed to realize that I had any other option. It wasn't until I met the wonderful community at reddit.com/r/atheism did I finally break free. The epiphany completely broke me out of a 2-year long depression and every day is brighter than the last. Now I can live my life according to what I feel is right and good, not how an imaginary sky fairy says I have to.

I'm not sure how detailed these introduction posts generally are but it's just my way of saying "Hello, it's nice to meet all of you."
RE: Recent convert
Welcome!
[Image: Untitled2_zpswaosccbr.png]
Welcome to the forums.
Hello, fellow non-idiot! Big Grin