Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 27, 2024, 3:52 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Whitney Houston's death
Whitney Houston's death
What do you guys think about this article?

http://carm.org/looking-at-whitney-houst...heist-eyes

I'm not too good at philosophy so some insight on philosophical views on morality from other great thinkers as well as expounding on the views of some of those mentioned in the article would be helpful because I'm sure that the philosophers mentioned have much more to say on the subject. Thanks.
RE: Whitney Houston's death
The guy thinks atheism is a faith so that tells you all you need to know about how seriously to take this article.
You are currently experiencing a lucky and very brief window of awareness, sandwiched in between two periods of timeless and utter nothingness. So why not make the most of it, and stop wasting your life away trying to convince other people that there is something else? The reality is obvious.

Here come the strawmen, one by one
My logic's faulty but I'm having fun
It's all part of apologist fantasy

-Sung to the tune of Bad Company's Rock and Roll Fantasy
"You don't need facts when you got Jesus." -Pastor Deacon Fred, Landover Baptist Church

™: True Christian is a Trademark of the Landover Baptist Church. I have no affiliation with this fine group of True Christians ™ because I can't afford their tithing requirements but would like to be. Maybe someday the Lord will bless me with enough riches that I am able to. 

And for the lovers of Poe, here's your winking smiley:  Wink
Well, let me do a little research.

Protagoras and Epicurus aren't really partners in crime. They belonged to two different philosophical schools. Epicurus said that fear of death is irrational because it involved neither pleasure nor pain.