Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 29, 2024, 11:02 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hey
Hey
Hey guys,

Just joined here. This is actually my second atheist forum, the first time I didn't introduce myself and jumped right in (introducing myself felt a bit like saying "look at me, look at me!"Wink), but this time I figured, why not.

So here goes - name's Vera (actually means Faith, how's that for irony). Was a self-taught religionist for quite a while, none of the crazy stuff like angels and demons (or hell), but mostly because I thought Xianity was all about compassion. Boy was I wrong...

Started losing my faith gradually and it was a depressing process (it did help that I had the worst bout while in Sweden... in the winter...), I would actually pray for not losing my faith. It took a while, but when I finally lost the shackles of religion, I can say honestly I've never felt freer or more at peace in my life.

Well, I think that's more than enough babbling about myself, I guess more of my dirty laundry (figuratively!!!) will start popping up in due time Wink

(Oh, and hiya to the guys I know from the other placeWink)
But the eternal dilemma - how can we be happy amid the unhappiness of others?
RE: Hey
Welcome
G'day. Big Grin
Cunt
Well hello there.

You can fix ignorance, you can't fix stupid.

Tinkety Tonk and down with the Nazis.

Thanks guys,
I guess now I can go on and have a looksy around, see what's lurking in your cupboards, closets and cabinets Wink

Oh, and frankie - Nick Cave, am I right? (hm, just realised that the main character in the book I'm translating at the moment is called frankie... I don't want to have this association stuck to your name in my head ... expunge, expunge...)