Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 27, 2024, 7:37 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
YEC Girlfriend
YEC Girlfriend
Hi everybody. This is my first time here, so please don't hate me too much if I'm posting this in the incorrect place. Tongue

Basically, my girlfriend and I are both 18 years old. She is a YEC Christian, and I was a Christian too when our relationship began about 2 years ago. She's my first real girlfriend, and I'm her first serious boyfriend.

Despite me starting off our relationship as a Christian, I have slowly (but surely) moved away from Christianity, especially fundamentalism, and now embrace a more humanistic (perhaps even very loosely deistic) philosophy. My girlfriend, however, remains a YEC.

I have kept this transition to myself for the most part. She knows that I am more politically liberal than she is and that I hold science to a higher regard than she does. However, she doesn't know that I view "TheEarthIs6000YearsOldism" as lunacy or that I don't accept the idea of the Benevolent-but-Vengeful God as likely.

I could use some advice on how to move forward from here. She is a really smart, funny, sweet girl, and I'm perfectly fine with her being a Christian and don't see it as a deal-breaker. I was raised in a Fundy family, so I can put up with it for the most part. I don't know how/what to tell her about my views though, and, as we go to college and as our relationship progresses, I could see this becoming a point of contention, especially if we don't talk about it beforehand.

Any advice or the sharing of similar experiences would be much appreciated. Thanks! Big Grin
RE: YEC Girlfriend
It seems you are starting with a tolerant position, but worry she might prove to be intolerant.