Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 27, 2024, 11:51 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Obligatory into thread!
Obligatory into thread!
Hello! I'm a married software developer with two young kids. I used to post a bit at the RationalResponseSquad and then moved to TheThinkingAtheist. Several users there kept mentioning this place, so I thought I'd check it out.

As far as my religious views, I consider myself an agnostic atheist. I don't believe in any gods, mainly out of a lack of evidence. I was raised Lutheran. I had some doubt on and off during my 20s. During my late 20s, I wasn't sure I believed anymore, even though I really wanted to. It took me about two years to become comfortable with my lack of belief and to even be able to admit it to myself. I've been atheist for the last three years.

I'm lucky in that most of the people I hang out with are also atheist, so I had a lot of people I could talk to about it, once I'd come to terms with it. My wife is still Christian, although, she has rather accommodating beliefs. Among other things, she doesn't believe in hell, and believes that when I die, I'll go to heaven with a bit of egg on my face for having been wrong, and then everything will be cool. Our differences in belief can be a bit of a pain point, but at this stage, it's something we don't often discuss.

Anyway, I look forward to getting to know the community!
RE: Obligatory into thread!
(April 4, 2014 at 7:35 pm)RobbyPants Wrote: As far as my religious views, I consider myself an agnostic atheist. I don't believe in any gods, mainly out of a lack of evidence.
Thinking Welcome

My wife is also Christian. She's waaaaay cool!
For the hell of it, here's a picture of me with the green beer I had last St. Patrick's day:

[Image: Greenbeer1_zps98c3dd74.jpg]