Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 28, 2024, 6:57 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Do things really need to be limited?
Do things really need to be limited?
So I was recently watching a documentary about black holes, and Michio Kaku basically said that the reason we can't understand black holes is because when you use relativity or quantum physics to calculate their mass and or gravity you end up with infinity, you also end up with infinity when you calculate the size and density of the singularity because its infinitely small.  And apparently infinity is a no no when it comes to math involving bodies in space.  So since I'm nowhere near being a math expert I would just like to know (in terms I can understand  Tongue ) why is it that things like a black holes gravity, density, and mass cannot be infinite?
RE: Do things really need to be limited?
I suppose if the gravity was infinite, it would no longer matter how far away an object is from the black hole, the pull would be an infinitely large force. The only thing stopping the whole of the rest of the universe being swallowed up into it instantly would be the "speed of gravity". No other finite gravities would matter anymore.

However, if there were competing black holes all with infinite gravity, everything would get sucked into the nearest one.

Since none of this has happened, they can't be infinite Tongue

I just made all that up, I'm not qualified to answer. But that is my guess, based on observation. What the theoretical problems are I have no idea. E=m*c*c, it would be an infinite amount of energy. Not cool I guess.
Feel free to send me a private message.
Please visit my website here! It's got lots of information about atheism/theism and support for new atheists.

Index of useful threads and discussions