Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 29, 2024, 6:32 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ask a Automotive Brake Engineer
Ask a Automotive Brake Engineer
Just a post to answer any Braking systems questions or general automotive industry questions.
I have a lot of experience in Sensors and their manufacture as well.
Find the cure for Fundementia!
RE: Ask a Automotive Brake Engineer
Tommy Boy, that you?  Big Grin
Why did the engineers that created the tire pressure monitoring system hardware make it battery operated?
It seems that plenty of energy could have been siphoned from the turning wheel and the system wouldn't reliably fail in about 5 years.

I have my theory, it involves them being evil puppets of MBAs.
So how, exactly, does God know that She's NOT a brain in a vat? Huh
Is it true that BRAKES only STOP you from having fun?
No God, No fear.
Know God, Know fear.
(June 8, 2015 at 7:40 pm)JuliaL Wrote: Why did the engineers that created the tire pressure monitoring system hardware make it battery operated?
It seems that plenty of energy could have been siphoned from the turning wheel and the system wouldn't reliably fail in about 5 years.

I have my theory, it involves them being evil puppets of MBAs.

Price of manufacture. I've heard of newer TPM's that power off the Rotor or knuckle magnetism, but I've not seen one yet.
(June 8, 2015 at 8:04 pm)ignoramus Wrote: Is it true that BRAKES only STOP you from having fun?

Only if you work here at my plant. We soulless, lifeless engineers are pathetically boring.
(June 8, 2015 at 6:52 pm)Cato Wrote: Tommy Boy, that you?  Big Grin

That's NOT funny!
I worked for a wholesale parts distributer. Can you tell me what brand of pads you like and if cost equals performance?
[Image: dc52deee8e6b07186c04ff66a45fd204.jpg]