Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 27, 2024, 12:26 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Real Meaning of the Word Disinterested
Forgive me folks, but I have a degree in English and used to teach basic writing to undergrads and I am really and truly tired of seeing otherwise intelligent people misuse this word.

I often see the word disinterested used when what the person means is indifferent. Disinterested means when someone has nothing to gain from something, to have no interest in it. It has nothing to do with whether he finds the thing interesting. Interest here is used in a totally different way. If a situation or decision does not affect me personally then I'm disinterested, even if I find the situation most intriguing. On the other hand, I could find the situation quite boring, but if I stand to gain financially or in some other way then I'm not disinterested.

Please, if you love me, don't offend my sensibilities by abusing this word.

Teachers: fearless warriors in the never-ending battle against ignorance, spitballs and dangling participles.
The god who allows children to be raped out of respect for the free will choice of the rapist, but punishes gay men for engaging in mutually consensual sex couldn't possibly be responsible for an intelligently designed universe.

I may defend your right to free speech, but i won't help you pass out flyers.

Those who can make you believe absurdities, can make you commit atrocities.
--Voltaire

Nietzsche isn't dead. How do I know he lives? He lives in my mind.
RE: The Real Meaning of the Word Disinterested
That's very disinteresting.
Everything I needed to know about life I learned on Dagobah.
I don't remember using that word. I typically use "I don't care". Does that work?