Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 3:20 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
where to find scientific studies and reliable statistics
where to find scientific studies and reliable statistics
Hi there,
I'm constantly coming up with questions by myself and during debates such as:
-whats the percentage of x in y country that is z?
-whats the effectivness of p?
-is there any correlation between q and r?
etc etc

Does anyone know what the most comprehensive and credible research tool for scholarly articles and statistics?
I'm looking for something like Google Scholar but with better search tools, and more comprehensive.
I'm a college student also, so that might give me better access to stuff.
I know that a lot of credible organizations have their own vast databases, but I'm looking for something like Google Scholar that links the best ones together.
RE: where to find scientific studies and reliable statistics
If you are looking for country statistics, or correlations of stats between countries, then there is no finer resource that GapMinder: http://www.gapminder.org

It's a free, open, academic program that you can run on your computer. It allows you to look at how different country stats have changed over time.

For anything else, I presume some Googling would reveal the answers. If you can't find it on Google Scholar, try going to an actual journal (i.e. Nature, Science, etc) and doing a search.
(August 30, 2010 at 2:44 pm)Tiberius Wrote: If you are looking for country statistics, or correlations of stats between countries, then there is no finer resource that GapMinder: http://www.gapminder.org

It's a free, open, academic program that you can run on your computer. It allows you to look at how different country stats have changed over time.