Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 29, 2024, 3:31 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
exempt from vaccines for religious reasons
exempt from vaccines for religious reasons
I feel like this might be an odd thread to start. I also don't know if this should go here, but medicine is a science, but it's about religion. (eh, I never know where anything should go.) Anyway, I am a student service intern at my college. I do whatever needs doing for student services. One day last month I was organizing health forms (and other student forms) and I ran into one that said she was exempt from the vaccines required to go to school for religious reasons.
I am not sure what I wanted to say about it, but I wanted to say words.
Aren't vaccines supposed to protect the person who got it and other people? yeah, I got the vaccine to protect me, but what if the virus evolves into a strain my immune system can't handle? that can happen, yes, no? well, it wouldn't be that likely. I know I'm bound to run into people not vaccinated on the street, but it is a little different when you are living on campus with them.
I'm not worried about it or anything like that. so, you don't need to tell me I'm not going to catch a deadly disease, that could have been prevented if that one person got her shots. I guess, I just wanted to hear thoughts on the matter. If anyone has any. If not, oh, well.
[Image: siggy2_by_Cego_Colher.jpg]
RE: exempt from vaccines for religious reasons
It's a fine example of the kowtowing to stupidity everytime someone plays the religion card.

I would agree that if someone does not want to take a vaccine (for any reason) that they should have that right.
They also forfeit the right to attend an institution which requires said vaccination.