Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 29, 2024, 8:14 am

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
My Astro Photo Of The Day
As I said in my introduction, I am also an amateur astronomer. I am usually quitebusy this time of year observing and taking photos, but I had shoulder surgery on Tuesday, and will be sidelined for a while. So I started going through some of my photos from earlier this year, and decided to reprocess a few. Here is one that I finished this morning.

[Image: M8-1.jpg]

Messier 8, in Sagitarius
5x5 minute exposures stacked and dark subtracted
ISO - 800

Equipment

Konus 200 mm f5 Newtonian (1,000 mm focal length)
Losmandy G-11 mount
Orion Shorty Autoguide scope with starshooter autoguider
Hutech modified Canon T1i DSLR

Taken at the Louisville Astronomical Society observatory,
in Curby, Indiana, on July 2, 2010
RE: Astrophotos
Pretty. I don't mind if you post more. I enjoy pictures of the stars.

also, I haven't welcomed you, yet. so, welcome.
[Image: siggy2_by_Cego_Colher.jpg]
(October 14, 2010 at 1:34 pm)Cego_Colher Wrote: Pretty. I don't mind if you post more. I enjoy pictures of the stars.

also, I haven't welcomed you, yet. so, welcome.

Thanks, Cego. Here is an image I took last Thursday of Comet 103P/Hartley while observing at Taylorsville Lake, Ky. It is currently in the Constellation Perseus, though you need dark skies and a telescope to see it. Enjoy:

[Image: 103P_Hartleya-1.jpg]

Comet 103P/Hartley

2x2 minute exposure at ISO 800

Equipment - same as previous image
This is quite enjoyable. I'll get my spot in this thread and enjoy the view.
Keep them coming. I LOVE astronomy.