Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 25, 2024, 7:34 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
My big adventure
My big adventure
I haven't been posting here much, until recently, but I figured I'd update you on my biggest life change.

I've lived in Michigan my whole life (I'm 38). My wife, kids, and I just moved to (very!) rural Ontario. My wife got a job teaching on a First Nations reserve in western Ontario. We're about seven hours northwest of Thunder Bay. It's about a 170 km drive to get groceries.

I quit my web development job I had in Michigan, since it was going to be a big hassle for them to pay me when I was a permanent resident of Canada. Now that we're settled in, I'm going to start looking for some remote software development work.

The drive up here was an adventure in and of itself. It took three days (doing it in two would have been pushing it). We got stuck for a few hours when the only highway between Sault Ste Marie and Thunder Bay was closed down due to an accident. Still, we found a really nice park we killed a few hours, there.

[Image: 2v1nb5k.jpg]

[Image: 2wp741j.jpg]

[Image: 2nibdc0.jpg]

[Image: 5kj7n8.jpg]

[Image: i69mk2.jpg]
RE: My big adventure
That's a hell of a change!

Good for you!
Dying to live, living to die.
The place we're staying at is pretty decent. It's technically an apartment. There are two other units next to us. We're right next to the lake, which is great! My wife likes to do yoga in the mornings, and when it's not wet, she goes down there to do it.

This is the path just off to the side of our place:
[Image: 5ds4lt.jpg]

And, here is where that path ends:
[Image: 332szro.jpg]

So... taking out the trash turns out to be an adventure.