Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 28, 2024, 3:57 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The meaning of the name "Islam".
The meaning of the name "Islam".
I have heard some people say that the very meaning of the name "Islam" means "Peace". But I have also heard others say that the very meaning of the word "Islam" means "Submission to God's will". Which is it?
RE: The meaning of the name "Islam".
I have always heard it as "submission," but I am far from an expert.
Even if the open windows of science at first make us shiver after the cozy indoor warmth of traditional humanizing myths, in the end the fresh air brings vigor, and the great spaces have a splendor of their own - Bertrand Russell
Yeah I was told in school it meant submission or surrender
I was tought it meant "Unterwerfung" meaning - Submission.

I once attended a presentation by an islamic scolar from egypt, he spoke german but wasn`t probably that much aware about our culture and history. Because he seemed very suprised when the attending croud took a deep breath and muttered in discontent after he stated:

"Jihad translates literaly into Mein Kampf or "mit sich selbst kämpfen"
"Salam" means peace.

"Islam" is deduced from "Salam", but it means basically submission (to God and his law). Modern muslims focus on the deduction from "Salam" (or peace) due to the accusations of terrorism posed to Islam, but the old understanding of the word "Islam" is submission.

but, on the other hand, there is a saying of the prophet Mohammed relating Islam to peace and describing Muslim as a person who don't hurt people with his tongue or his hand.

So, you can say that the word Islam means submission and means also "making peace"