Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 27, 2024, 6:48 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ex-Christians
Ex-Christians
I know a lot of atheists will say they are former Christians. How did you know you were a Christian ?? Did you participate in a ritual or say a prayer or go to confession?
Did you have some sort of affirmation that you were a Christian ?
I apologize if this has been asked before but I'm fairly new to atheist forums.
RE: Ex-Christians
I was christian in the kid sense of the word.
I was a kid, I believed my elders and they claimed there was a god, everywhere, but invisible.
We didn't go to church much, but did the parties: Easter and Christmas.
I thought everyone was the same, so I was too.

Then, when I was about 10, I figured they must be wrong.... and a world of possibilities opened... plus, I discovered there are other religions.

Given this, I'm not the sort of person that would say "I was once a christian"... I was once a kid who believed whatever he was told, just like most kids in the world. Then I became an atheist.
Tnmusicman what's your definition of a Christian?
As a kid/young teen, I believed in Jesus, God and the holy spirit, I believed they/god as one existed and watched over us, I wanted to spread the word/love of Jesus to the point of considering becoming a priest as a kid. Believed the bible was the word of God (till I read past the 4 gospels and basic stories we were told as a kid)

I did my 'confirmation' (as a young highschooler) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confirmatio...ic_Church) , went to confessions, found the stations of the cross to be incredibly moving, said prayers regularly (and meant them, not the nonsense grace before dinner stuff)....
Nemo me impune lacessit.