Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 18, 2024, 10:41 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Protection From Malware (Windows Users)
Protection From Malware (Windows Users)
I thought I would share a cool method that I use to protect myself from all instances of Windows malware. I have been using Microsoft Windows for over 18 years, and I very much doubt that I will ever upgrade from Windows 7 (not interested in touch screen technology AT ALL). Inside Windows, I use the virtualisation software "Oracle VirtualBox". Inside the virtual hard disk drive, I have installed Linux Mint (an outstanding distribution of Linux in my view), into which I have installed WINE, so that I can launch Windows applications from within the virtual instance of Linux Mint. It is extremely unlikely that a piece of Windows Malware will be able to perform operations outside of WINE, let alone getting beyond the virtual Linux Mint installation; the Windows 7 host will be 100% protected. If anybody uses software that is very likely to contain malware (such as serial generators et cetera), I strongly suggest this method.
RE: Protection From Malware (Windows Users)

Generally running windows in a vm for vulnerable apps, only running trusted software, and keeping AV and programs patched is sufficient. You're overdoing things a tad, I think.

(Oh, and smart computing is more important than any gimmicks. Know what best practices are for safe computing and follow them. 90% of security failures are a result of human error. Any system badly configured, badly managed, and inadequately protected will be easy pickings.)

[Image: extraordinarywoo-sig.jpg]