Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 27, 2024, 10:51 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hi guys, newbie here
Hi guys, newbie here
Hi ladies and gents. Hope you all find a minute to read my brief(ish) introduction and reasoning for joining these forums.

So i'm just some guy from the UK who has been pondering the big questions etc for a while now. For some time (particularly during and immediately after my student years) i've been an agnostic of some sorts. Raised in a not-that-observant anglican family (and christened) I probably stopped believing in any sort of personal god during my late teens, but always adopted the safe-bet 'Open minded' Agnostic tag when describing myself, at least that's how I thought of it at the time.

I'd always had a tendency to defend religion or religious people from absolute hostility and confrontation because I believe that freedom is important, but in the last 24 months in particular i've come to seriously quesiton just how much certain elements of religious dogma actually threaten the freedoms that I hold dear. I've come to the point where I can no longer reconcile my firm belief in such things as women's rights and the importance of scientific endevour with my realisation that certain people within religious circles are actively seeking to undermine said values, and not in some daft primitive desert tribe from a time long gone, but in the here and now.