Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 20, 2024, 1:20 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Easily The Stupidest Thing I've Ever Been Told By A Fellow Atheist
Easily The Stupidest Thing I've Ever Been Told By A Fellow Atheist
We have a fair mix of friends - some believers, some atheists. One of the latter was at the house yesterday, and the convo got round to films.

I mentioned that the wife and I quote enjoyed the film 'Pitch Perfect' - myself because I've been a professional musician, and the missus because she thinks the male lead is the cuddliest thing on two feet.

Our friend look puzzled and said, 'But I thought you two were atheists.'

I assured her that we were and she said, 'Then why would you watch a film about a capella singing?'

It was my turn to be puzzled and our friend said, 'A capella means "from the chapel". If you listen to it, you're supporting religion!'

I accept that I lost the argument, as at this point, I collapsed in peals of laughter.

Boru
‘But it does me no injury for my neighbour to say there are twenty gods or no gods. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg.’ - Thomas Jefferson
RE: Easily The Stupidest Thing I've Ever Been Told By A Fellow Atheist
OMG! Too funny.
'The difference between a Miracle and a Fact is exactly the difference between a mermaid and seal. It could not be expressed better.'
-- Samuel "Mark Twain" Clemens

"I think that in the discussion of natural problems we ought to begin not with the scriptures, but with experiments, demonstrations, and observations".

- Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)