Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 4:51 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Atheist Pledge of Allegiance. Your thoughts?
The Atheist Pledge of Allegiance. Your thoughts?
Hey guys, I was watching a video by The Atheist Voice concerning the pledge of allegiance being challenged in the supreme court. After watching that, I came up with my own version of the pledge, and it goes like this:

I pledge allegiance to the morals of the American Humanist Association,
and to the freedom from religious dogma, one nation in reality, indiscriminate, with equality, and knowledge for all.

If I were still in School(I graduated), this is what I would've said instead of the current one.

Do you think this is an improvement to the current pledge? Would you say it if you were still in School? If you are in school, do you think this would be a great alternative than having to say "Under God" every morning?
If pinkie pie isn't real, then how do you explain the existence of ponies, huh? If ponies are real, then that's proof that Pinkie Pie is real. Checkmate, christians!  Heart

-- Book of Pinkie Pie 7:3
RE: The Atheist Pledge of Allegiance. Your thoughts?
Absolutely not. I don't like the idea of chanting anything in the name of atheism.

I'm not into chanting anything in the name of patriotism or nationalism, either. I think we should do away with it all. It's very Soviet era.
"There remain four irreducible objections to religious faith: that it wholly misrepresents the origins of man and the cosmos, that because of this original error it manages to combine the maximum servility with the maximum of solipsism, that it is both the result and the cause of dangerous sexual repression, and that it is ultimately grounded on wish-thinking." ~Christopher Hitchens, god is not Great