Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 7:41 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
By way of introduction...
By way of introduction...
I posted my introduction in the introduction forum, but since I am a scientist, I thought I should start my first thread by posting my position relative to science and religion. First of all, I don't think that one's religious beliefs prevents one from doing sound science provided that one recognizes how the scientific method works, and that since the intention of science is to discover the facts about the natural world in which we live, that one must set aside one's beliefs in order to make impartial interpretations of those facts. Many people of faith are active in the scientific process, and they are able to do so because they understand that with regard to science, the 'principle' that "god did it" doesn't actually explain anything from a scientific perspective.

That said, I had shoulder surgery on Tuesday, so it is difficult for me to type. So what I will leave you with is a quotation from the memoirs of my college paleontology professor, entitled "The Morality Of Nature".

Enjoy,

-OGM

"In the great classic, near eastern religions, man's life on earth is conceived as pain and suffering, and an inheritance of man's fall from grace (or Paradise Lost). According to these traditions, after man's expulsion from paradise, because of his disobedience to his "God", man alone could not recover his erstwhile innocence, even by striving to become a superhuman of humility, submission, and kindness, etc., but only by an intercession of a god, or God-man sacrifice, could man ever hope to regain paradise, in another world, a spirit world. This "New Jerusalem" is a