Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 28, 2024, 4:41 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Doc's story, take 2
Doc's story, take 2
Hi atheistforums people,

Forum newbie here, refugee from coming apocalypse at The Thinking Atheist, before that refugee from the Amazon atheist
forum.   Damn!  When will we finally have our own home in the Promised Land? 

Fortunately, during the last migration I had the foresight to save my obligatory background story of woe and redemption, and only need to change a few dates, this go-round.  It's long, and probably quite boring, but y'know, I do feel an obligation to let those providing the forum hospitality know what sort of creature they've let into their parlor.  (TTA-ers & Amazonians, pass it by, nothing here you haven't seen before...). 

As recently as 7-8 years ago I would have said the story of my atheist awakening was pretty typical. My experience may be
more typical than I know, but having reassessed it several times, I've still not yet encountered that many people who have
come to similar conclusions.  Be that as it may, here, esteemed brethren, is my testimony:

<CUE:  Organ music and soft Gospel choir in the background, good for the occasional "Hallelujah!"; tossing poisonous
snakes is optional>

Dad was Roman Catholic, mom was Russian Orthodox, but had to agree to raise the kids in the Roman Catholic Church
(RCC) in order to marry dad.   So, although the progeny were sent through the public school system, we were duly
indoctrinated in the arcanae and rituals of the Catholic church during Friday afternoon "religious instruction" sessions at the
Catholic school. (This was a mixed blessing -- we Catholic kids got to leave public school a half hour early on Fridays and