Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 29, 2024, 12:43 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Are you happy where you live?
Are you happy where you live?
I feel that I live such a boring life. I am currently a university student, and even though I have tried to go out with classmates, etc., I have utterly failed. I don’t even feel it is my fault. It simply doesn’t happen.

And in general, the life in my country is boring. There is nothing to do, and people are not exactly friendly. I have a few Japanese/Korean friends and I love my time with them.

Currently working towards getting a scholarship to Japan to finally live my life. How about you?
RE: Are you happy where you live?
It's easy to get into a rut and blame it on where you live. I've been there.

There's definitely a downer in living in a place where the culture, climate or other attribute is out of whack with your preferences. Blaming your problems on your environment (or anything else for that matter) can be a crutch though.

I used to be in the U.S. Air Force. I had the good fortune to be stationed for 3 years at Patrick AFB in Cocoa Beach, Florida. It was one of the top-3 requested assignments available. You had a world-class beach across the street. You had theme park heaven 60 miles away in Orlando. There was the only coral reef in the continental U.S. to scuba dive on, world-class partying at South Beach in Miami. You could watch the space shuttle launch at close-range. This place was incredible! And guys glumly hung around the dorms and complained that there was nothing to do. Just blew my mind.

Things might suck where you are and I sympathize but if you take time to search for what is available with an open mind, you might be surprised.