Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 25, 2024, 1:38 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
RE: More hydroponics in ag.
Wanted to toss you this link Sceptic (Skeptic?). There's an older paper, and one that I love quite a bit as well (McMurtry, M. R., Nelson, P.V., & Sanders, D.C. (1988)), Nelson however appears to be the one who has really taken the whole thing and put it in the marketplace of late.

https://www.aquaponics.com/aquaponics/aq...erview.php

My interest in this is specifically http://www.aces.edu/dept/fisheries/educa...system.pdf

It's one piece of an overall farm plan I've been putting together for a few years. Looking to get the whole thing up and running here in the Bluegrass. Year round production of local veggies and (especially) fish. We're landlocked, decent premium for fresh stuff. The yearly freezes allow me to use exotic species that were considered invasive in FL. but here are not seen as any threat whatsoever due to their inability to survive outside of captivity in this region. It's good stuff, thought it might generate an interesting discussion.