Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 7:06 am

Poll: What's your bent?
This poll is closed.
I am a scientist, or planning on becoming one.
25.71%
9 25.71%
I am NOT a scientist, nor do I plan on becoming one.
60.00%
21 60.00%
I am NOT a scientist, but I do work in a very scientifically-dependent field.
14.29%
5 14.29%
Total 35 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Scientific Atheists
Scientific Atheists
I've just started noticing after returning here that a lot of you don't seem to require a great deal of "meaning" in your life. That's fine, lol. I'm just trying to figure what gets you through the day. My theory is that a lot of you think very scientifically and therefore do not yearn for meaning as much, mostly for knowledge, whereas many other people like me yearn more for wisdom and insight.

So I'm wondering, how many of you are scientists or planning on becoming one? OR how many of you work in a very technical field that requires a good deal of scientific knowledge?

I look forward to the accumulation of responses. Smile
RE: Scientific Atheists
I'm kinda in an in between place here.

I'm going to school for nursing and judging from all the science classes I have to take, yeah, my field is a scientific field, especially biology. That being said, my mom was a nurse for years and I went to work with her a lot. Nursing doesn't look like science that much.

So I dunno. Do with that as you will, I guess.
I live on facebook. Come see me there. http://www.facebook.com/tara.rizzatto

"If you cling to something as the absolute truth and you are caught in it, when the truth comes in person to knock on your door you will refuse to let it in." ~ Siddhartha Gautama