Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 26, 2024, 1:30 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Formulating a rational defense of skepticism (a work in progress)
Formulating a rational defense of skepticism (a work in progress)
This is my edited version of a paper I wrote when I was an undergrad. I reformatted it to make it more conversational and less focused on the selected topic.

Suggestions welcome:

Skepticism plays an important role in the atheist's worldview. So does reason. However, a coherent worldview can only be formed with the combination of the two. Rational skepticism is the holy grail of the atheist perspective on the world. Here the atheist has to be wary of two extremes, not just one. In being a skeptic, it's almost natural to know not to be too trusting. But how many know that it's equally problematic to be too skeptical?

The problem of uncontrolled skepticism is evident for even the beginner philosopher. No doubt, early in their philosophical life exposed to Descartes' methodological skepticism, the reader of Descartes' work is treated to what appears to be the slow unraveling of a person's sanity, if it were not just an exercise. Yes- here you see, that unreasonable, unmanaged skepticism leads to a sort of insanity. You start to question your own thoughts, your own reasons, your own needs, desires, beliefs, until you don't know what it is you believe any more. This, I believe is where the shrewd theist attacks the skeptic. He might point out that the skeptic's own skepticism is irrational as he takes his own skepticism by faith and fails to doubt it: "Why aren't you a skeptic of your skepticism?" He will ask.