Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 25, 2024, 6:46 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Being an Atheist Teen is hard...
What's up, guys?

Well, here goes nothing. My name is Nick. I'm a sophomore at high school and I'm very new to what I call "open atheism". By that, I mean being out of the atheist closet, or at least "kind of". I've been an atheist since I was 14, so my de-conversion was pretty recent. Man, there's just so much frustration with my new life. Especially when you live in a town full of idiots. Every time I tell someone I'm an atheist at school, they give me a dirty look or act so shocked. The good news is that I've met a fellow freethinker who is also fairly new to atheism. But it still doesn't change the fact that we're outnumbered. There's just been so much abuse since I've opened up. People have been calling me a fool for not believing in God, and others just say I'm going to hell.

Yeah. It's the usual crap atheist teenagers face. But I know that if I keep my head high and graduate, then I'll be free to do what I want. I know I have a good future ahead of me, and I'm not gonna let some crazy pastor order me around like a dog. Stay strong, guys and gals.
Aww... (Hugs)
We should really start an "It gets better" campaign for atheist youths...
RE: Being an Atheist Teen is hard...
That look is the same look directed at people who openly identify themselves as Christian.
But if we walk in the light, as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, His Son, purifies us from all sin.