Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 8:24 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Much needed advice. I need more atheist friends.
Much needed advice. I need more atheist friends.
Noob here. In need.

I've been Agnostic atheist for a while now, I guess I slowly made up my mind with enough research and self thought around 6 years ago.

Anyway, I was born and raised in Louisiana. Southern Louisiana. I was indoctrinated into catholicism by my mother mostly. My father just kinda went with it, didn't attend often. Some where along the way, around age 10, my family stopped going to church functions and what not.
I was influenced by my Christian friends to start attending an Assembly of God church not too long after that. Was really into it. I can actually say I loved it. It felt like the greatest place to get away from my drunken parents and complete chaos of a teenage life.
Anyway, I grew out of that around 16? That's when I really started to look at life from my own views. Slowly realizing that all of the bullshit I was fed my whole life, was complete and udder shenanigans. I basically grew a brain of my own.
My twin sister didnt exactly come around as fast as I did, but now she's a full blown atheist and isn't afraid to let anyone know.
That's where we differ. I have a hard time coming out and saying it out loud. I tend to be quiet when God is brought into a casual conversation. Not so with my sister, but with Christian friends, acquaintances, and family members.

Should I be more vocal about how I feel or how other's beliefs make me very uncomfortable to be around? Of course I want to be this way, but I also don't want to seem rude, hurt feelings, or offend.