Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 16, 2024, 2:18 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Joe Bloe (Adelaide, South Australia)
Joe Bloe (Adelaide, South Australia)
Hi everyone. I'm a lifelong atheist - and eight years of Sunday School did nothing to change that.

My three favourite pastimes are 1950's rockabilly music, computer programming (in BASIC) and surfing the net.

I'm looking forward to joining in some of the discussions here...
RE: Joe Bloe (Adelaide, South Australia)
Hi Joe, welcome to the forums.
Best regards,
Leo van Miert
Horsepower is how hard you hit the wall --Torque is how far you take the wall with you
Pastafarian
Welcome along.

I used to programme in BASIC. Nothing wrong with that. My favourite was GFA BASIC on the Amiga which I used when I was a shareware author, something that I plan to resurrect in the new year, but this time with Delphi/Pascal.

Anyway, I'm wittering. Welcome once again Smile
[Image: cinjin_banner_border.jpg]
Welcome to the forums Joe.

EvF
Hey Joe!

Yeah same here with sunday school.
Welcome Joe, to the forums!
Freedom is the ability to march to the beat of a different drummer without fear of retribution. Secularone

Ignorance is bliss but understanding is wonderful. Atheist forums.org
Welcome. Good to see that sunday school also had no effect on you. Big Grin

And BASIC sucks balls. Procedural programming at its worst with even worse garbage collection and shoddier coding practices. An in the words of one of my CS heroes:
"It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. " -- Edsger Dijkstra