Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: June 26, 2024, 4:47 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
nother newbie
nother newbie
Hi there,

My name is Sean, a newbie on this forum. Although I guess I have been an Atheist for well over 10 years, just didn't care too much to discuss it till recently.

I come from a Catholic family, so my background is probably familiar to many here. Gave up on the church whilst in my teens and sort of made my mind up shortly after.

Wink Shades
RE: nother newbie
Welcome Sean, I hope you enjoy your stay here.
Freedom is the ability to march to the beat of a different drummer without fear of retribution. Secularone

Ignorance is bliss but understanding is wonderful. Atheist forums.org
Welcome Northerner.
(December 19, 2009 at 4:02 pm)Northerner Wrote: Hi there,

My name is Sean, a newbie on this forum. Although I guess I have been an Atheist for well over 10 years, just didn't care too much to discuss it till recently.

I come from a Catholic family, so my background is probably familiar to many here. Gave up on the church whilst in my teens and sort of made my mind up shortly after.

Wink Shades
Welcome Northerner.

But beware, in discussion with theists I have found that a religious background does not the least grant you any expertise on the phenomenon of believing from first person experience. Only the ones who still sell their poor souls to the supernatural charade can truly account of this.
"I'm like a rabbit suddenly trapped, in the blinding headlights of vacuous crap" - Tim Minchin in "Storm"
Christianity is perfect bullshit, christians are not - Purple Rabbit, honouring CS Lewis
Faith is illogical - fr0d0
Thanks everyone.. Wink

(December 19, 2009 at 5:52 pm)Purple Rabbit Wrote: Welcome Northerner.