Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 29, 2024, 11:24 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
UK teachers to find potential terrorists
UK teachers to find potential terrorists
So the news story today that teachers in English schools are being encouraged to identify students that they think might be at risk of radicalisation. Kids as young as 11 are reportedly praising the 7/7 martyrs etc. Not sure how effective this can be. I'm a teacher and as far as I'm concerned all year 10s are potential terrorists. Surely this will just create even further segregation and alienation. Imagine being a parent who's told their child is an extremist. This is an area where I agree with the BHA's "Don't Label Me" campaign.
RE: UK teachers to find potential terrorists
Surely this is the same thing as teachers identifying students with mental problems? If a student becomes violent, or is excessively lonely and isolated, it is reported.
But would being an Islamic extremist really manifest itself in those ways? The child could be perfectly well adjusted and still believe a whole load of dodgy evil stuff. Especially in Muslim faith schools - i'm not sure if there would even be much of a noticeable difference between radicalized kids and kids from conservative Muslim families. I'm only saying this because apparently something like 25% of British Muslims support violence in the name of Jihad in certain circumstances. But then again, how much of this is Western Media propoganda?
About 10 years ago,a friend's 16 year old daughter was identified by her school as being at risk of suicide. Of course the kid said it was bullshit. 3 months later she took an overdose.She survived.