Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 25, 2024, 8:01 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Seriously Annoying Youtube "feature"
Seriously Annoying Youtube "feature"
So here's the thing; I don't like to embed YouTube vids in posts, because embedded vids slow the load-time for a thread. Put enough of them in, and the thread never completely loads, it just blinks continually while you're trying to read it (and yes, I have excellent high-speed cable Internet, and I'm a PC tech so the problem is NOT on my end).

Anyhow.

Today I decided to link to a couple of YouTube vids. Operative word "LINK."

As in the code sez [ur l=http://whatever.thing ]I'm Hypertext! [/u rl ] (without the spaces)

And the stupid board interface sees the YouTube URL and automatically turns my hypertext links into embedded video!!!

Grr.

This is stupid. Hopefully there's a simple radio button somewhere in the back-end that turns on and off this asinine glitch feature. Please, please please somebody click the switch!
RE: Seriously Annoying Youtube "feature"
How about simply putting a spoiler

or hide environment around it? That's the standard way to avoid long loading times for the thread.
The fool hath said in his heart, There is a God. They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none that doeth good.
Psalm 14, KJV revised edition

(January 21, 2015 at 12:06 pm)Alex K Wrote: How about simply putting a spoiler

or hide environment around it? That's the standard way to avoid long loading times for the thread.

Sure, I could use a workaround.

But I shouldn't have to. And most people won't have the skillz to even consider it.

When I declare a hyperlink in a wysiwyg, I expect a goddam hyperlink. Angry
[Image: tumblr_ltdjn8vtcg1qii6tmo1_250.gif]