Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 25, 2024, 12:05 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Is God really real or are people simply deluded?
Is God really real or are people simply deluded?
This is my first attempt at a thread about religion, and hopefully it will be an average one. To go with my average intelligence and also my limited ability to speak from a point of view of an atheist or agnostic.

Admittedly, I have read the bible from front to back and back to front. I don't think I have missed anything. I'll get straight to the point anyway. We all know that certain characters in the old testament lived to a ripe old age of about 800 years, until God decided to flood the earth and state (if I am correct, since it has been a long time since I have had a bible in my hands) that all humans will live upto 120 years of age.

This is all very well, however, what with the food they were eating, the working conditions, the conditions in which they found themselves living in, and most importantly of all; medicinal needs. With the aforementioned conditions, it is very possible that most humans around that time lived to about the age of 40 or perhaps a little bit more.

I guess I am straying from the point I am initially trying to make. What I really would like to know is this. Is it possible that God actually existed in the flesh, that is to say, someone who had some sort of education, who was actually able to prey on those who were considered at the time, uneducated and thus believe anything whatever a certain person would say?