Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 19, 2024, 7:36 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Must We Know Everything?
Must We Know Everything?
I like to read popular science, but I know very little. I'm not a trained biologist, physicist, astronomer, etc. I read a lot of history, but I'm no recognized expert in any particular time period. I suspect that this describes many atheists and that there are many atheists who read even less.

What interests me is why theists think that knowing the origins of the universe, life, or humans matters to the question of whether there is a god. Why is it that anyone would think that we don't know necessarily means there is a god?

I'm not exactly happy with "I don't know." But I'm not so uncomfortable with it, that I have to make up and answer to feel better.
If there is a god, I want to believe that there is a god.  If there is not a god, I want to believe that there is no god.
RE: Must We Know Everything?
Humans are conditioned to be uncomfortable with unknowns; as a result, they unreasonably concoct an answer to alleviate their inner turmoil. It is no coincidence that the answer they have chosen is one that relies solely on fallible faith.
"Never trust a fox. Looks like a dog, behaves like a cat."
~ Erin Hunter
I think it's the other side of the "gawd of the gaps" argument. Having gawd there to plug the gaps in science with goddidit also plugs the gaps where their belief could leak out. They believe in an all knowing gawd, therefor gawd must know how and why everything happened and if it doesn't know then their belief starts to show weakness.
Thief and assassin for hire. Member in good standing of the Rogues Guild.
Science is worth learning. Theology? Not so much.

At least science will come in useful eventually.