Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 1:43 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Struggling with Catholic Partner
Struggling with Catholic Partner
Hi All,

I'm a newbie here and signed up today as I'm seeking advice from anyone who may be (or may have been) in a similar situation to me.

I'm a 41 year old single Dad in Australia and 6 months ago I fell in love with a 40 year old single Mum. It's been a whirlwind honeymoon period for the both of us since then and we love each other heaps and both feel that things feel just right, but recently, a recurring topic keeps creeping into our conversations that we can't seem to get past. - Religion - When religion makes it into the conversation, I can't seem to (and don't want to) back down on my personal view that religion is a myth and I find myself in a 'Richard Dawkins' mode where I'm trying to disprove religion - but the response is always the same. "you are disrespecting me and my views" - and so the conversation ends with a stalemate and not a happy ending.

My partner is Catholic and is very involved in her big Catholic family and associated religious gatherings and is also a teacher in an elite Catholic school here in Sydney.

I am quite the opposite. I'm from a small family, non-religious, quite passionate about science and enjoy a robust debate and question the status quo. 

I've met some of the family who are great but I've been told by my partner that some will be quite dismissive due to my lack of faith.