Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 18, 2024, 2:11 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My Intro
My Intro
I am an artist, writer, photographer, former Peace Corps Volunteer, and retired educator.  I'm 70 (as I write this at the beginning of Aug 2016), female, and an atheist. 

I started to doubt my parents' strict Protestant religious beliefs when I was about 11 or 12. I was forced to sing in the choir, attend Sunday school and church, be confirmed, attend youth group, Bible study, vacation Bible school and church camp. Besides reading a chapter of the Bible before dinner every night, my family sat down to pray before we went on long drives or trips.  My father put reflective tape on our car's bumper in the shape of crosses ---a sure-fire protection against auto accidents.  Both parents were Sunday school teachers and my father was a church organist whose answer to everything was to "pray about it." Besides being unable to find sense in what I was taught about religion, I often say I was "all-churched-out" by the time I graduated from high school. 

I had altruistic motives for joining the Peace Corps and did my best to make a difference at my Peace Corps site. However, I was also running away from home. College had opened my eyes to people and ideas that dismayed my parents. Although I never "came out" of the atheistic closet to my parents, by that time I had rejected many of my parents beliefs about everything, including religion. They wanted me to live at home so they could rein me back into their fold. I chose to live as far from home as possible.