Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 29, 2024, 2:08 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Question to atheists about some unexplained concepts
Question to atheists about some unexplained concepts
Hey everyone,
I am new to this form. I am an agnostic, and I was curious about something.
I have been reading a book called "God's Laboratory". This book takes place in Ecuador, and it makes it clear that Ecuador is a very Christian religious country. A large deal of the book talks about IVF technology in Ecuador, and how doctors believe God is the decider as to whether or not IVF will work for a family or not. One part of the book talks about a certain saint Ecuadorians tend to pray to when they cannot have children. Apparently, there is a place where people can go, pray to a saint. Then, many have said the next time they attempt to have a child, that it works. I know it could be a coincidence, but it works for many people. I am wondering how this could be possible, and if you think this proves Christianity is correct because the people pray to a Christian saint. 
Thanks
Arda
RE: Question to atheists about some unexplained concepts
I would first ask for a scientific study on this instead of relying on claims in a book. Confirmation bias is likely at play here. It's common for people who have had success to widely report their story. Others won't be so vocal about it when it does not work. Even if they are, it doesn't make an interesting story for people who want it to be true to relay the story of failures.

So to wrap this up, there's just not enough to go on. How could I give this any level of confidence?
The book is real enough.

http://www.ucpress.edu/book.php?isbn=9780520270831

Her doctorate is in anthropology not medicine, though.