Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 19, 2024, 3:26 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How does everyone picture God?
How does everyone picture God?
As atheists we know that no one can properly define God as God is a person's personal God so their God's characteristics and morals are usually a reflection of their own.

How do I picture God if I strain and squint hard enough?...

A cartoony old man in the clouds? Dunno Don't know what else to say? I'm not experienced in these things...

I'm expecting the big guns to chime in with some fine details ...They're good at that stuff... (*cough*)
No God, No fear.
Know God, Know fear.
RE: How does everyone picture God?
To the literal minded, God is a literal thing. But I suspect God is something mundane like an old brain appendage we don't much use any longer. But probably the parts we do use repurpose bits and parts of the 'godly' bits. Now and then our modern brains might malfunction and the old mammalian bits fire up. Maybe that is what we call schizophrenia. Religion is nine parts nostalgia.
It's that thing you see when you look hard into the sun.
When I was still a believer, I never really thought of God as having physical characteristics, it was always these "uncountables" attributes, like the omni- attributes, knowing everything, somehow, able to know my mind and what I would think and do before I did, and so on. It wasn't until I was around 13 years old that I started to question these things, starting with the 2 versions of The Ten Commandments; why would there be 2 versions for a being that is perfect, I asked myself. It wasn't what made me atheist, but it got the ball rolling, so to speak.
"The first principle is that you must not fool yourself — and you are the easiest person to fool." - Richard P. Feynman
Code: