Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 25, 2024, 9:25 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How far do we go?
How far do we go?
If you ask me if assholes like Jefferson Davis or Andrew Jackson deserve statues of honor, of course not. I was proud to find out that the High School I graduated from in 1985 changed it's name from "Robert E Lee" to "John Lewis" a couple years back. 

I get changing names and removing "memorials". I get that. Bullies in history do not deserve positions of honor. But we as a species should not over correct and actually physically destroy history in all cases. I am glad the Holocaust Museum exists in DC. Not because it is promoting fascism, but because it serves as a lesson as to what not to do to your fellow human beings. 

"Monuments" are not just about history, they are justifications for positions of power.

Let me make it clear. A monument of honor is one thing. A monument of "honor" that is bullshit, isn't a matter of valuing humanity, but vanity. Objective recording of history isn't about promoting, it is about noting, recording.

The Holocaust museum was not about dominance, but "don't do this to your fellow human".
RE: How far do we go?
In all of New Zealand, there is not one, single statue honouring Genghis Khan. Shameful.

Boru
‘But it does me no injury for my neighbour to say there are twenty gods or no gods. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg.’ - Thomas Jefferson
(September 8, 2021 at 1:21 pm)BrianSoddingBoru4 Wrote: In all of New Zealand, there is not one, single statue honouring Genghis Khan. Shameful.

Boru

You can bet that enough Americans migrate there, you'll eventually have a statue of Robert E. Lee somewhere.