RE: Random Thoughts
September 7, 2017 at 11:49 am
(This post was last modified: September 7, 2017 at 11:50 am by The Industrial Atheist.)
(September 7, 2017 at 11:07 am)Nymphadora Wrote: Gluten is the binding agent in grains. It is the stringy fibers that you see when you tear apart a piece of bread.
That's true in the literal sense. But with Celiac disease it's only certain sources of it that contains the substance that causes a reaction.
Some rice also contains gluten in the former sense, but not in the latter sense.
Why a completely different term wasn't invented, I don't know. I was diagnosed with Celiac in my late 20's.
With Celiac disease we are mainly concerned with wheat, malt, barley and rye. There are some weird grains that are closely enough related to wheat to cause a reaction. I don't believe I've actually ever encountered them.
Actually this study does recall to me that some Celiacs may react to oats.
https://celiac.org/blog/2014/12/oats-and-gfd/