Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 29, 2024, 3:17 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Debate help?!
Debate help?!
Ok, so I am a freshman in high school and I am taking Debate 1.

On Tuesday we are having our first debate real debate.

The debate is a CX (team) debate over the topic of "Should the death penalty be abolished in America?"

My partner and I chose the side of being against is being abolished.
My 3 arguments are as follows
1. It costs the public a lot of money to keep someone is prison for life.
2. The is already an overcrowding problem in U.S. prisons and the death penalty might help cut down on that.
3. The idea of the death penalty might convince someone not to commit the homicide they are planning.

I am here to ask all of my fellow (and probably senior) debaters on this site for help.

1. I am supposed to find facts I can use and print them off. The problem is I need to find credible sources for these facts. If anyone could find sources that can be taken seriously it would be appreciated. Smile

2. If anyone would like to help in a less work based way, if anyone would like to provide any other arguments for me to use or any counter arguments that I’m likely to face, it would a big help.

I am just asking for anyone who might be very bored or just would like to help a fella out, I’m a very nice guy you know Smile
Atheism is a non-prophet organisation. - A dusty old book that I found that must be completely true because someone wrote it down.
RE: Debate help?!
(September 2, 2012 at 11:02 am)WhatIfGodWasJustAMyth Wrote: 1. It costs the public a lot of money to keep someone is prison for life.
2. The is already an overcrowding problem in U.S. prisons and the death penalty might help cut down on that.