Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 27, 2024, 9:45 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Sports and Religion do they mix?
Sports and Religion do they mix?
I coach football. I have always been against asking for god to help us win. I did not understand how he could pick sidesBig Grin.

Recently, I have stopped saying the lords prayer at the end of the game. It has been a tradition of the school for years. I never really thought about it, but now with my belief changing, it seems very hypocritical of me to pray to a god that I dont believe is there.

I dont believe, as a coach, I should influence the boys one way or another about their faith. I never did as a christian. To the point if they asked about my faith, I would tell them it had no bearing on how we play. Now I still believe I should not influence them. A few have noticed me not praying. Should I bow my head anyway? Or is that just being hypocritical?...something I despise now in christians.

Any and all input is welcomed!
RE: Sports and Religion do they mix?
Erm, if you're a coach employed by the school, leading the players in the lord's prayer isn't just morally icky, it's illegal (in public schools).
In every country and every age, the priest had been hostile to Liberty.
- Thomas Jefferson
(October 31, 2014 at 3:17 pm)polar bear Wrote: I coach football. I have always been against asking for god to help us win. I did not understand how he could pick sidesBig Grin.

Recently, I have stopped saying the lords prayer at the end of the game. It has been a tradition of the school for years. I never really thought about it, but now with my belief changing, it seems very hypocritical of me to pray to a god that I dont believe is there.