Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 3:36 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Looking for a place to belong
Tongue 
Looking for a place to belong
Hey Atheist Forums, my name's Danny. I'm a college student in the pacific northwest. I'm a medical marijuana patient. I like to play music and garden and go hiking.

I became an atheist a couple years ago, after nearly 20 years being a Christian. I enjoy discussing serious issues like religion and politics, but I usually have much more to learn than I have to contribute.

Anyway, I don't have a lot of friends IRL (I live in a small, predominantly religious community) and I hope I can end up making some here!
[Image: Spc9Ev.png]
RE: Looking for a place to belong
Welcome aboard, pocket god. Like the name! We have a thread around here somewhere, in which people are invited to explain the meaning of their usernames - it sounds as though yours has an interesting story attached.

You've certainly come to the right place to make friends; this is without a doubt the friendliest place on the net. Pull up a theist and have a seat!
At the age of five, Skagra decided emphatically that God did not exist.  This revelation tends to make most people in the universe who have it react in one of two ways - with relief or with despair.  Only Skagra responded to it by thinking, 'Wait a second.  That means there's a situation vacant.'
Welcome! I think this is the thread being referred to, if you want to have a look: http://atheistforums.org/thread-32997.ht...t=username

Have fun! I have family east of Seattle, and thought about going to Oregon Tech, in K. Falls. Nice scenery.
"For me, it is far better to grasp the Universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring." - Carl Sagan
Welcome to the forum! Welcome