Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 18, 2024, 11:19 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Christian missionary becomes atheist after trying to convert tribe
Christian missionary becomes atheist after trying to convert tribe

TL;DW An interesting talk about a Christian missionary who tried to convert an Amazonian tribe to Christianity but instead ended up becoming an atheist, essentially because the cultural and linguistic differences of the tribe were such that they required evidence for any new information given to them, meaning they didn't buy into the concept of Christianity. This made him to rethink his former beliefs and eventually he became an atheist and an anthropologist.

Good quote from the video:

Quote:I'm a failure as a missionary. I'm a mediocre scientist. But I have learned a tremendous amount through the eyes of the Piraha...
If you're frightened of dying, and you're holding on, you'll see devils tearing your life away. But if you've made your peace, then the devils are really angels, freeing you from the Earth.
RE: Christian missionary becomes atheist after trying to convert tribe
"Oh Lord, protect me from new knowledge!"
(September 25, 2019 at 7:20 am)EgoDeath Wrote:
Quote:But I have learned a tremendous amount through the eyes of the Piraha...

A wise man!

Always good to respect and listen to the "other side." Always good to admit we may be wrong. Always good to resist the ego-defenses of a challenge. 

Difficult to do, but apparently he did it.
(September 25, 2019 at 7:27 am)Belaqua Wrote: A wise man!

Always good to respect and listen to the "other side." Always good to admit we may be wrong. Always good to resist the ego-defenses of a challenge.