Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 27, 2024, 7:21 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Moral Law
Moral Law
I'm a veteran trained to a code of conduct that forbids the murder of Enemy Prisoners of War.  Yet God commanded Saul to do just that in 1 Samuel chapter 15.  

Since the law against murder can be set aside by a whim of the almighty it must be a ceremonial law rather than a moral law. 

For believers to maintain it is a moral law, they must assert that morality itself is based on the whim of a particular being, and is not objective.
RE: Moral Law
Religious logic allows for such hypocrisy.
The usual response to the Euthyphro dilemma is for the xtian apologist to argue that God's nature is necessary (thus not arbitrary) and His commands flow from that nature (which is morally perfect). This nature establishes the moral realism layer of reality and is thus objective for all created beings.
Rename "prisoners of war" to "hostages", then remember my saying of, "hostages are expendable".

Problem solved.
Dying to live, living to die.
(November 4, 2023 at 8:05 pm)LinuxGal Wrote: I'm a veteran trained to a code of conduct that forbids the murder of Enemy Prisoners of War.  Yet God commanded Saul to do just that in 1 Samuel chapter 15.  

Since the law against murder can be set aside by a whim of the almighty it must be a ceremonial law rather than a moral law. 

For believers to maintain it is a moral law, they must assert that morality itself is based on the whim of a particular being, and is not objective.

The law against murder wasn't set aside, because Mosaic law forbids only the shedding of innocent blood. And, since the Torah makes mention - multiple times - that sins can sometimes apply to entire groups instead of individuals, all of the Amalekites were guilty.