Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 2:14 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dealing with beliver friends on Facebook
Dealing with beliver friends on Facebook
This is my first post here so hello everybody!

I am an agnostic scientist first of all. I'm having some problems with a couple believer friends on Facebook. I do have a many thoughts on the issue but I would like to hear others as well. It appears some of my friends are feeling "attacked" by my non-believer posts. I may have been somewhat reckless on a few things I shared recently but I suspect they would feel attacked by most anything I posted that was non-believer based.

I will add that none of the people whom have been vocal to me about this are nut-job fanatics posting religious nonsense and dancing with snakes. In fact neither of them have posted anything about religion on FB I can recall. They are the type of believers I can respect, are quite intelligent, and are mild-mannered.

So here is an email I got tonight.

"XXXXX, I don't want to argue with you and honestly for many years I was a non-believer as well, but many things have changed in my life that have caused me to re-evaluate what religion means to me.

Now, I write a private message because I don't really like to discuss my personal beliefs in public, regardless of who's reading it etc... It's not that I'm ashamed of my beliefs or anything like that, I just honestly don't believe it's anyone's business but mine.

But I see all your posts about religion and I understand that you are well within your right to believe and say anything you want, and I can at any point just stop paying attention to you if I don't like your message, but that's not my point.