Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 19, 2024, 11:21 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Technology, video, phone & computer questions
Technology, video, phone & computer questions

This thread is for them that have not (technology answers) to reach out to thems that have, to get everyday technology questions answered without having to devote a lot of time to research, trial & error, or simply doing without. Post your questions by using the preface "Q:".

Q: I'm building a media server / media center for my sister so that she can watch her netflix, amazon, hulu, pre-recorded tv shows and such on multiple devices about the house (PC, ROKU, cell phone, Nook HD). I am new to this technology, so any advice on media servers and HTPCs is welcome, but specifically, I note in the description of server platforms like Playon and Plex, that it says they do on-the-fly transcoding. I had expected the server I'm building to not need to do any encoding / transcoding tasks, so the hardware chosen is rather modest, a Northwood Pentium 4 2.0 ghz on a lower end chipset. That does not sound adequate. However, I have a Radeon 7200 and a Radeon 9000 video card I can add. Both feature a hardware engine for calculating 'discrete cosine transforms' (DCTs) which are supposedly heavily used in decoding video. If I include one of these cards, a) will it be enough to offset the meager hardware capabilities for transcoding, and b) will it even use the video card's DCT engine in transcoding.