Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 30, 2024, 3:33 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
High School Atheist/freethinker Club
High School Atheist/freethinker Club
I am currently a student attending a high school on the coast of California and have been thinking of starting an atheist/freethinker club at my school. I'm not anticipating any legitimate opposition to me actually trying to begin a club, but I am quite at a loss when it comes to what kind of activities a high school atheism club would participate in. One idea I have is creating a type of archived Q&A website for theists (or other atheists) at the school in order to both promote an awareness for what atheism is/is not and educate students in regards to the fallacies of mainstream religion.

...but in case this idea fails to gather momentum and attention, does anyone else have ideas for what a freethinker club at a high school can do?
RE: High School Atheist/freethinker Club
Good for you and I wish you the best of luck.

Debates are always a good thing to hold as well as a weekly newspaper perhaps. Um, what else? I'll get back to you. Big Grin

Welcome along by the way..
[Image: cinjin_banner_border.jpg]
Welcome to AF! That does sound like a great idea. Perhaps you and your fellow students could try to encourage others to become scientifically literate by actively endorsing the idea that knowledge > superstition. The more you know about how things work, the better and all that.
You might consider suggesting anyone interested getting hold of a copy of Dawkins' " The God Delusion " for starters and holding a debate around that.
Wish you luck!
HuhA man is born to a virgin mother, lives, dies, comes alive again and then disappears into the clouds to become his Dad. How likely is that?