Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 20, 2024, 2:01 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My writing
My writing
Let me set the record straight here.

As a writer, I am not attempting to create the next Great American Novel.

Neither am I attempting to become so popular every novel I write is automatically a New York Time's Bestseller.

I write because I love to write. You can hate my writing, you can like it, you can love it.

First and foremost, I write for myself. The audience is secondary to me.

That, to me, is real writing.
"Never trust a fox. Looks like a dog, behaves like a cat."
~ Erin Hunter
RE: My writing
I feel the same way about my poetry.
"Hipster is what happens when young hot people do what old ladies do." -Exian
I reckon most of those eventual Great American Novels were written with similar love and similar indifference to fame. If it happens, embrace it, but if not, write on.
"For me, it is far better to grasp the Universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring." - Carl Sagan
(May 6, 2016 at 1:26 am)Mamacita Wrote: I feel the same way about my poetry.

I agree. It is a plus if people like it, but everyone is a critic no matter what. I write for myself. If I stopped after one word of criticism I would have stopped 20 years ago. It is more important to simply do it, do it long enough you will get hits but it is far more important to do it for you.
Thank you for the words of encouragement.

Certainly, sometimes it affects me when others negatively criticize my writing because it may be too generically modern in relation to fiction, but then again I have tried to read what they consider great literature and that crap just bores me.
~ Erin Hunter
Kit, only an arsehole will reply with non constructive critism, if justified.