Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 29, 2024, 5:05 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Please help me with my academic essay
Please help me with my academic essay
Hi all! Second shot at posting this, so let's hope this one works.

I'm a student (mature student, I'm in my 40s) in my Honours year of Communications in Creative Media. For the module User Theory I have to write an academic essay from a virtual ethnography perspective about a forum. I thought this one would be great, as forums and discussions like it helped me a lot when I decoverted years ago. So here's how you can help.

Copy the questions listed below. Paste them in a private message to Alex K with your answers, and he will anonymise your response and send it on to me. I apologise for not linking to his profile, if I do, because I'm a new member, the thread gets eaten by the dragons that protect us all from trolls.

Thanks in advance!

The questions:

1 – What is your age, gender, location?
2 - How often do you visit the forum / post on the forum?
3 - Do you ever meet any other members IRL/AFK (Away From Keyboard)? If so, in what context (other atheist group meetings/socials, other shared hobbies or interests unrelated to atheism)?
4 - Do you feel Atheist Forums offers a sense of community?
5 - Do you have any access to an IRL/AFK atheist community? If so, how does it differ from what you get out of Atheist Forums?
6 - Do you find it easier to communicate and voice your opinions online on the forum, than offline face to face? Has participation here made it easier for you to talk about belief, perhaps helped you prepare for such conversations?
7 – Does being part of Atheist Forums affect your offline social life? If yes, how?
8 - Do you think there's a downside to communicating online rather than just offline?